Shikhar Dhawan to steer India for Sri Lanka tour in July; six uncapped gamers named in facet

Shikhar Dhawan to steer India for Sri Lanka tour in July; six uncapped gamers named in facet

New Delhi: Opener Shikhar Dhawan was on Thursday named as captain of the Indian group that can journey to Sri Lanka for a limited-overs tour subsequent month because the BCCI introduced a 20-man squad, filled with children, together with six uncapped gamers.

With nation’s prime cricketers already in England for the World Take a look at Championship ultimate and the next England sequence, the choice of a variety of children within the squad is on anticipated strains.

Lots of them impressed within the suspended IPL and have been rewarded with their maiden India call-up. They included Devdutt Padikkal, pacer Chetan Sakaria, Nitish Rana, Krishnappa Gowtham, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Varun Chakravarthy.

Prithvi Shaw and Manish Pandey have made a comeback however Shreyas Iyer lacking out on choice means he has not but recovered from his shoulder damage.

Out of favour spin duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal are additionally a part of the squad that additionally has Pandya brothers — Hardik and Krunal — other than two wicketkeeper batsmen in younger Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson.

India are scheduled to conflict with Sri Lanka in three One-day Internationals and as many Twenty20 matches on the tour that can start on 13 July and conclude on 25 July.

All of the matches shall be performed on the R Premadasa Worldwide Cricket Stadium in Colombo.


Shikhar Dhawan scored match-winning 98 in the first ODI on his return to the Indian side. Image: Sportzpics for BCCI

File picture of Shikhar Dhawan. Picture: Sportzpics for BCCI

India’s squad: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Okay Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

Internet Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simarjeet Singh.

#Shikhar #Dhawan #lead #India #Sri #Lanka #tour #July #uncapped #gamers #named #facet

Leave a Comment