Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021: Shreyas Iyer, Dhawal Kulkarni star as Mumbai beat Maharashtra; Chandigarh upset Bengal

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021: Shreyas Iyer, Dhawal Kulkarni star as Mumbai beat Maharashtra; Chandigarh upset Bengal

Jaipur: Mumbai rode on skipper Shreyas Iyer’s unbeaten 103 to beat Maharashtra by six wickets of their Elite Group D sport of the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Tuesday.

This was Mumbai’s second successive win after that they had crushed Delhi within the lung-opener.

Opting to bat first, Maharashtra posted 279/9, with centuries from Yash Nahar (119) and Azim Kazi (104) regardless of skilled Mumbai pacer Dhawal Kulkarni (5/44) working by their top-order.

However it was Iyer, who anchored the Mumbai chase and noticed them house in 47.2 overs.

Maharashtra skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad (19) couldn’t convert his begin and was trapped in entrance of the wicket by Kulkarni.

Kulkarni then wreaked havoc as he dismissed Naushad Shaikh (0), skilled Kedar Jadhav (5) and Ankit Bawane (0) in fast succession as Maharashtra was reeling at 38/4 in 8.5 overs.

Nevertheless, Nahar and quantity six batsman Kazi had different plans they usually not solely pulled the staff out of the difficulty however took them to an honest place with their 214 run-stand for the fifth wicket.

Nahar struck seven fours and sixes maximums in his 133-ball knock, whereas Kazi performed the right second fiddle, because the duo took on the Mumbai bowlers led by India speedster Shardul Thakur (1/57), who performed the sport after being launched from the Indian squad.

Kazi hammered 12 boundaries and two sixes in his 118-ball innings.

When Nahar was run out by Shams Mulani, Maharashtra have been poised at 6/264 after which have been in a position so as to add solely 15 runs.

Chasing 280, Mumbai openers Yashasvi Jaiswal (40) and Prithvi Shaw (34) added 67 for the primary wicket.

Iyer, who walked in at three, was in his parts and hammered 9 boundaries and one six, in his uneaten knock and after Jaiswal perished, he discovered in a position companions in Suryakumar Yadav (29), Shivam Dube (47) as they performed their roles to perfection.

Dube took the sport away from Maharashtra along with his aggressive strokeplay, smashing 5 fours and a six, and took Mumbai on the cusp of a win. The formalities have been accomplished by Iyer alongside Sarfaraz Khan (15 not out).

Chandigarh stun Bengal  

Chandigarh continued their giant-killing run of their Elite debut, beautiful hosts Bengal by 5 wickets in a Vijay Hazare Group E conflict on the Eden Gardens on Tuesday.

Recent from their win over neighbours Haryana, Chandigarh who have been enjoying their second home season chased down Bengal’s 253/9 with seven balls to spare to climb as much as the highest of the group desk, forward of Saurashtra on the net-run fee.

Saurashtra secured an exhilarating one-wicket win over star-studded Haryana on the 22 Yards Academy in Saltlake.

Hosts Bengal, who made a bunch stage exit within the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20s, dropped to 3rd spot with one win and a loss.

Despatched in, Bengal discovered themselves caught in a spin net of Chandigarh trio of Gaurav Gambhir (2/45), Bipul Sharma (2/50) and Gurinder Singh (2/47) because the hosts misplaced wickets at common intervals to be restricted to 253/9.

The one vivid spot in Bengal’s lacklustre batting present was all-rounder Shahbaz Ahmed’s 66-ball 59 that offered some stability within the center earlier than tailenders Akash Deep (25 not out from 13 balls) and Mukesh Kumar (16 from 15b) took the whole previous 250.

Chandigarh responded with a commanding opening partnership of 126 runs by the duo of Arslan Khan (88 from 95b; 9×4) and skipper Manan Vohra (45 from 68b; 3×4) earlier than the in-form Shivam Bhambri took cost with a relaxed and composed 71 not out.

With Chandigarh going robust of their chase, Bengal made some inroads within the demise overs by selecting up three wickets for one run to see the guests 230/5, needing 24 runs from 22 balls.

However Bhambri, who was scintillating kind within the Syed Mushtaq Ali with three successive half-centuries, held his nerve and sealed the chase along with his unbeaten knock from 74 balls that had seven fours and one six.

Transient Scores: Maharashtra 279/9 (Yash Nahar 119, Azim Kazi 104; Dhawal Kulkarni 5/44, Shardul Thakur 1/57) misplaced to Mumbai 280/4 (Shreyas Iyer 103 not out, Shivam Dube 47; Satyajeet Bachhav 3/59) by six wickets.

Delhi 354/4 (Nitish Rana 137, Dhruv Shorey 132; Sagar Trivedi 2/66) beat Pondicherry 175 (S Suresh Kumar 42; Kulwant Khejroliya 4/32, Pradeep Sangwan 2/27) by 179 runs.

Rajasthan 199 (Mahipal Lomror 67, Arjit Gupta 45; Rishi Dhawan 6/27, Vaibhav Arora 1/24) misplaced to Himachal Pradesh 201/6 (Rishi Dhawan 73 not out, Prashant Chopra 39; A Singh 2/46, Ravi Bishnoi 2/60) by 4 wickets.

Bengal 253/9; 50 overs (Shabaz Ahmed 59) misplaced to Chandigarh 257/5; 48.5 overs (Arslan Khan 88, Shivam Bhambri 71 not out, Manan Vohra 45) by 5 wickets.

Providers 274/7; 50 overs (Ravi Chauhan 118, Pulkit Narang 48 not out, Diwesh Pathania 42 not out) misplaced to Jammu & Kashmir 276/7; 48 overs (Shubham Khajuria 84, Abdul Samad 63, Shubham Pundir 56 not out) by three wickets.

Haryana 264; 50 overs (Chaitanya Bishnoi 84; Chetan Sakariya 3/63) misplaced to Saurashtra 265/9; 49.1 overs (Snell Patel 79, Arpit Vasavada 46) by one wicket.

#Vijay #Hazare #Trophy #Shreyas #Iyer #Dhawal #Kulkarni #star #Mumbai #beat #Maharashtra #Chandigarh #upset #Bengal

Leave a Comment