Vijay Hazare Trophy: Prithvi Shaw’s ton, bowlers assist Mumbai beat Delhi; Chandigarh pull off thrilling chase in opposition to Haryana

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Prithvi Shaw’s ton, bowlers assist Mumbai beat Delhi; Chandigarh pull off thrilling chase in opposition to Haryana

Jaipur: Prithvi Shaw’s blistering unbeaten 105 after a powerful present by the bowlers arrange Mumbai’s seven wicket win over Delhi in an Elite Group D sport on Sunday because the home giants started their Vijay Hazare Trophy marketing campaign on a successful be aware

Mumbai bowlers led by skilled pacer Dhawal Kulkarni (3/35) restricted Delhi to 211/7 regardless of a valiant unbeaten 106 off 145 balls by Himmat Singh after which cantered to the goal in 31.5 overs as Prithvi tore into the Delhi assault.

Invited to bat on the Jaipuria Vidyalaya Floor, Delhi have been reeling at 10 for 3, as they misplaced each openers Anuj Rawat (0) and India opener Shikhar Dhawan (0) cheaply. Each the batters have been run-out.

Bother mounted for Delhi after they misplaced Nitish Rana (2), who edged to wicket-keeper Aditya Tare giving pacer Kulkarni his first wicket. Kulkarni struck once more and eliminated Jonty Sidhu (0) to make it 12 for 4.

File image of Prithvi Shaw. AP

File picture of Prithvi Shaw. AP

They misplaced half their aspect for 23 after left-arm spinner Shams Mulani (2/33) castled Kshitiz Sharma (5). Worse, there have been diminished to 32 for six after Kulkarni despatched again Lalit Yadav (5).

Then Himmat and quantity eight batsman Shivank Vashitsth (55 off 70 balls, 6×4) rallied the innings with their 122-run seventh wicket stand.

Himmat took the duty and performed a mature knock, hanging six fours and two maximums. After Vashisth departed, Himmat discovered an ready accomplice in skipper Pradeep Sangwan (28 not out) as the 2 cast an unbeaten 57-run stand to take their aspect above the 200-run mark.

Chasing 212, Mumbai misplaced opener Yashasvi Jaiswal (8) early however Prithvi (105 not out off 89 balls) and skipper Shreyas Iyer (39 off 39 balls; 6×4, 1×6) added 82 runs for the second wicket.

Shaw was in his parts. He took the Delhi assault to cleaners hammering 15 boundaries and two sixes in his 89-ball match-winning innings and was ably supported by Iyer, who was making a comeback after lacking the Syed Mushtaq Ali event.

After Iyer was cleaned up by Lalit Yadav, Suryakumar Yadav, who had earned his maiden India name up on Saturday, performed his half to perfection with a blazing 50 off 33 balls, hanging six fours and two sixes.

He and Shaw conjured 93 runs for the third wicket and introduced Mumbai on the cusp of a win they usually then comfortably rode house.

Tewatia’s blazing fifty in useless as Chandigarh pull off thrilling chase

Rahul Tewatia celebrated his maiden India call-up with a 39-ball 73 however his effort went in useless as Chandigarh secured an exciting three-wicket win over Haryana of their Group E opener on Sunday.

Tewatia, who was named within the India T20I squad for the five-match sequence in opposition to England, clobbered six sixes and 4 fours.

Chandigarh skipper Manan Vohra led a stiff 300-run chase with a 120-ball 117 (9×4, 2×6) earlier than Ankit Kaushik offered the finishes touches together with his brisk 78 from 66 balls (4×4, 3×6).

Chandigarh accomplished the chase with three balls to spare.

Earlier, Haryana received off to a stable begin with a cracking 102 (125 balls; 11×1, 1×6) by Himanshu Rana and his 115-run opening stand with Arun Chaprana.

Chandigarh bowlers fought again to set off a middle-order collapse earlier than Haryana rode on Tewatia’s robust end to publish a difficult 299/9 from their stipulated 50 overs.

Tewatia, the explosive Rajasthan Royals left-hander, raced to his third Record A fifty in 32 balls after which went berserk, scoring his subsequent 22 runs off solely six balls earlier than getting dismissed by Jagjit Singh (3/36).

Having made a bunch stage exit within the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20s, Bengal opened their marketing campaign with a complete 70-run win over Providers at Eden Gardens.

Center-order batsman Kaif Ahmad hit a stellar 53-ball 75 (11×4, 2×6), whereas skipper Anustup Majumdar offered him effective help with a 61-ball 58, as Bengal piled 315/6 after placing in by Providers.

The highest-three, comprising Shreevats Goswami (28), Vivek Singh (39) and Abhimanyu Easwaran (39), too chipped in earlier than the duo of Majumdar and Kaif took cost for a 92-run partnership.

In reply, fifties from skipper Rajat Paliwal (90) and Pulkit Narang (53) weren’t sufficient as Bengal put Providers below stress with constant wickets earlier than bowling them out for 245 in 49.4 overs.

The tempo trio of Ishan Porel, Mukesh Kumar and Akash Deep, together with left-arm spinner Shabaz Ahmed, picked two wickets every.

Jay Bista slams 141, powers Uttarakhand to win over Meghalaya

An excellent knock of 141 by opener Jay Bista powered Uttarakhand to a six-wicket win over Meghalaya in a Plate Group match on Sunday.

Bista scored his runs in 119 balls, hanging 18 fours and three sixes.

Chasing 243 for victory, Bista and skipper Kunal Chandela (55 off 80 balls) arrange the win with a second-wicket partnership of 126 runs in 142 balls.

Although Bista fell eight runs shy of the goal, Uttarakhand received house with 5.5 overs to spare.

Earlier, R Sanjay Yadav’s whirlwind 81 off 49 balls (2 fours, seven sixes) helped Meghalaya get better and publish 242 for six in 50 overs, having slipped to 123 for 4 within the thirty fourth over.

In different matches, Assam thrashed Manipur by 10 wickets in a sport shortened by in a single day rain and Nagaland outplayed Sikkim by 98 runs.

Transient Scores:

Delhi 211/7 (Himmat Singh 106 not out, Shivank Vashisth 55; Dhawal Kulkarni 3/35, Shams Mulani 2/33) misplaced to Mumbai 216/3 (Prithvi Shaw 105 not out; Suryakumar Yadav 50; Lalit Yadav 2/32) by 7wickets.

At Eden Gardens: Bengal 315/6; 50 overs (Kaif Ahmed 75, Anustup Majumdar 58) beat Providers Rajat Paliwal 90, Pulkit Narang

At JU Second Campus, Saltlake: Jammu & Kashmir 279/9; 50 overs (Shubham Khajuria 68, Vivrant Sharma 66, Abid Mushtaq 50 not out; Chetan Sakariya 3/64, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 3/50) misplaced to Saurashtra 283/7; 49.1 overs (Chirag Jani 93 not out, Aripit Vasavada 66, Vishvaraj Jadeja 48, Jadeja 40) by three wickets.

At 22 Yards, Salt Lake: Haryana 299/9; 50 overs (Himanshu Rana 102, Rahul Tewatia 73, Arun Chaprana 50; Jagjit Singh 3/36) misplaced to Chandigarh 300/7; 49.3 overs (Manan Vohra 117, Ankit Kaushik 78 not out, Shivam Bhambri 48) by three wickets.


Manipur 108 for six in 28 overs (Langlonyamba Meitan Keishangbam 25, Kangabam Singh 25 not out) misplaced to Assam 119 for no loss in 15.4 overs (Pallavkumar Das 75 not out (53 balls, 9X4, 3X6), Denish Das 36 not out) by 10 wickets (VJD technique). Assam: 4 factors, Manipur: 0.

Meghalaya 242 for six in 50 overs (Sanjay Yadav 81, Punit Bist 48, DB Ravi Teja 44) misplaced to Uttarakhand 243 for 4 in 44.1 overs (Jay Bista 141 (119 balls, 18X4, 3X6), Kunal Chandela 55) by six wickets. Uttarakhand: 4 factors, Meghalaya: 0.

Nagaland 310 for 8 in 50 overs (Sedezhalie Rupero 99, R Jonathan 92) beat Sikkim 212 all out in 49.2 overs (Robin Bist 72, Nilesh Lamichaney 37, Hem Chetri 3 for 29) by 98 runs. Nagaland: 4 factors, Sikkim: 0.

Arunachal Pradesh 7 for no loss in 2.4 overs vs Mizoram. Match deserted attributable to rain. Mizoram: 2 factors; Arunachal: 2 factors.

#Vijay #Hazare #Trophy #Prithvi #Shaws #ton #bowlers #Mumbai #beat #Delhi #Chandigarh #pull #thrilling #chase #Haryana

Leave a Comment